Live Free or Die? Transcript of a Ron Paul Speech

Manchester, NH. Tuesday, January 8th, 2008.

Ladies and gentlemen, thank you … thank you very much … thank you …

Good people of New Hampshire, I stand before you today with two things: a simple message and a dire need.

The message is one that I’ve been delivering for nearly 40 years. It’s a message that I know is familiar to you, it’s your state motto: “Live Free or Die”. Yes, it’s a little strange for me to be delivering your own motto to you, but that’s where the dire need comes in, so bear with me. The people of New Hampshire are needed. The people of New Hampshire are desperately needed. America needs you to stand up and say that enough is enough. America needs you to live up to your reputation and put your votes where your mouths are. American needs you to exemplify the “Live Free or Die” philosophy. You’ve lived under the motto, now America needs you to live the motto.

We’ve reached a point, in this country, where small, incremental changes have chipped away at our personal freedoms. We’ve reached a point, in this country, where huge, sweeping mistakes have destroyed our international reputation. We’ve reached a point , in this country, where our economy is grinding to a halt, our currency is collapsing and our prosperity is disappearing.

America needs New Hampshire to say “Enough!” America needs New Hampshire to claim back our freedoms.

(Pause – applause)

The country’s need is strong enough that I’m going to be blunt with you here; you only have two choices in the Republican Party Primary. You can vote for me or you can continue to see your country’s future squandered. Now, I’ll admit I’m not much of a politician. I’m not smooth, polished or particularly inspiring speaker but I don’t need to be … because the message of freedom speaks for itself!

(Pause – cheering)

I am the only Republican candidate who voted against the war. (Pause – cheering)

I have never voted to provide more funding for the war. (Pause – cheering)

Most importantly, listen carefully to this, when I am elected I will bring our troops back home to their families. I will end this war! (Pause – pandemonium)

You want freedom? I support legalizing drugs and abolishing the IRS! (Pause – shouting, cheering)

You want prosperity? I will restore this country’s economic power with responsible fiscal policies. You know? Like a Republican is supposed to. (Pause – laughter)

You want honesty, integrity and commitment? I’ve been married to my lovely wife for 50 years and I’ve been a congressman for 40 of those years. I’ve voted according to the constitution without exception, for those 40 years because that’s what I was elected to do! (Pause – cheering)

The time has come, New Hampshire, for you to decide whether “Live Free or Die” is a motto or a way of life. The time has come, New Hampshire, for you to decide whether our future will be filled with freedom or fear, prosperity or war, truth and honesty or more of the same we’ve been getting for 8 years.

Enough is enough New Hampshire.

New Hampshire, there isn’t another candidate who supports freedom like I do. There isn’t another candidate who has a track recording of voting for freedom like I do. So I ask you today, New Hampshire, are you ready? Are you ready to stand up and be counted? Are you ready to lead our country out of this dark hour? Is it just a motto New Hampshire, or are you truly ready to Live Free or Die?

Thank you. Thank you. (etc)

(Mayhem ensues)

