Crushed

I’m sick of being so damn naive.  I really, really thought Obama had a chance to cement his claim to the nomination today.

I pictured a country coming together, united by a charismatic leader in a time of great need.  A leader that can reestablish our international friendships and partnerships while mothballing our warships.

Hillary’s a great politician.  I just don’t believe anything she says.  I don’t even know why.  I believe just about everything that Obama says (again, naive much?)

Regardless, I pictured Obama sweeping to a crushing victory today and using that as a launch pad to mop up the intervening primaries before Super Tuesday.

Alas, it was not to be.  Senator Obama did wonderfully, but it wasn’t the image I had in my head.

Of course, Obama can still win and I certainly hope he does.  It just won’t be the giant, unifying leap forward I had thought it would be prior to New Hampshire.

Fairly crushed actually.